The Irony of it All — Digital Marketer Tries to Quit Social Media

Brief introduction: I am a freelance social media manager and content creator, and for the past few months, this has been my life — researching trends, trying to craft posts that would grab the attention of someone on the internet, trying to help brands make more sales. My problem is this: I have been depressed for a while and social media has been my coping mechanism. I tend to go down on a rabbit hole and I find it hard to control my social media usage. I know it all boils down to discipline, but I just feel like I don’t have enough will power to pull myself out of this trap that I have created for myself.

My solution and commitment:

1. Limit myself from checking social media (both for work and personal accounts). For the next 30 days, I am abstaining myself from checking personal accounts and I would try my best to only focus on the work that had to be done.
  2. I would try my best to not browse for more than 60 minutes a day. Articles (informative ones) will be saved to my Pocket app for reading. I will only read when I’m disconnected from the internet.
  3. I would carve at least 10 minutes a day to journal and reflect on where I am, what I could improve, and how things has been.

Wish me luck.

Day 0 (August 15)

• No Facebook, Twitter, and Youtube apps on both my Ipad and smartphone
  • Logged out of my accounts in Chrome (Twitter, Facebook)
  • Logged out of my personal accounts on Instagram (only left client accounts on social media)

Hey, welcome to the forum :v:

It‘s great you realized your usage of social media is just a coping mechanism for your depression! This, and posting your story here are fantastic first steps towards a better future.
The restrictions and goals you set yourself are really good, especially kepping a journal helps immensely with self-reflection and improving your overall quality of life.