NoSurf is a Journey

I consider myself a success story for NoSurf.

I have been doing NoSurf since Fall, 2016. It’s great to see that there’s a forum now, rather than just a subreddit! Reddit has been blocked on my router for a long time now.

My Setup
[LIST]
[]Wifi/router locked with a password only my husband knows. Router has category filtering, and can block specific websites, too.
[
]Xiaomi phone with built-in app lock with a password only my husband knows. All apps except Google Hangouts, email, and Google Photos blocked. Allows me to stay connected without the worry of relapsing.
[]I make an effort to do everything offline/off a device if possible. I don’t use my phone as a calendar or alarm. I use an actual physical spreadsheet for budgeting, rather than a digital one.
[
]A huge supply of books, DVDs/BDs, CDs (and the MP3s ripped from those CDs). I also play tabletop games, and listen to live radio.
[*]A dog to get me out of the house, and on a regular routine.
[/LIST]
My Story

It started winter 2015. I had always had a problem with controlling my technology use since I was a child, but this is when it really got out of hand. I couldn’t sleep until dawn every single day, even if I tried. I’d then sleep in until the afternoon. I was unable to make morning appointments, and was constantly late to work. I’ve had hypnopompic hallucinations (hallucinations upon waking up from sleep) ever since I was a child, too, but they became more frequent and more terrifying than ever because of how irregular my sleep schedule was. I saw spiders that’d lunge for me, floating severed fingers covered in blood, and then right towards the end, two episodes of hallucinations of intruders breaking in that I thought were real at first. Those two episodes had me in tears. During the last episode, I ran out the door, tripped, and scraped my knee before I realized it was a hallucination. That’s when I realize, something had to change about my lifestyle.