Matangi regaining control - journal

Hi I’m matangi, 27yr. I’ve been attempting a NoSurf lifestyle for a few years now, with limited success, so I thought I’d journal here to try and hold myself a bit more accountable.

Things I have improved, and am proud of:

1. Charge phone outside bedroom at night and read/talk with my partner for an hour before going to sleep (I only slip on this one a fortnight or so)

2. Quit reddit. I used to spend several hours a day on there and now I haven’t been on in 2 weeks and not really missing it. I used to kid myself that there was quality content on certain subreddits, but in reality, most of it was repetitive and scrolling through endless comments. Once I was on there I’d end up spending hours scrolling though stupid memes and askreddit threads.

Things I am still struggling with:

1. Focus at work. My job has changed quite a bit over the last few years. It used to be quite project oriented with clear instructions and it was easy to organise my tasks for each day without getting distracted. I also wasn’t on the computer much. Now I am working on multi-year computer-based projects with very vague guidelines in an area I have to self-teach in, and I spend my days getting distracted by any website I possibly can. Every time I reach a challenge, it is like my brain freaks out and I immediately try to do anything except the task at hand i.e. mindlessly browse. I feel like I’m ruining my career and making a bad reputation for myself in a small industry.

2. Picking up my phone whenever I am alone in my thoughts (at home, or waiting in a queue etc.) I have lots of hobbies, but these days I find myself reading more online about my hobbies rather than actually doing them!

Things I’m looking for help with: